Collaborative Law Act


This committee has drafted an act on collaborative law, a new kind of alternative dispute resolution framework used in many states today, particularly in a family law context, i.e., divorce, custody, and support proceedings. The core idea is that lawyers (and parties) to a dispute agree in advance that the lawyers will withdraw if the dispute goes to trial. In the spring of 2010, revisions to this Act were approved that, inter alia, provide the ability for a state to adopt the provisions of the Act either as a court rule or legislation, and that provide the option to limit the scope of the Act to family law matters or to have the Act applicable to all types of disputes.

Committee Members

Peter K. Munson Chair
Robert G. Bailey Member
Michael A. Ferry Member
Elizabeth Kent Member
Byron D. Sher Member
Harry L. Tindall Member
Cam Ward Member
William W. Barrett Division C Chair Member
Andrew Schepard Reporter
Carlton D. Stansbury ABA Advisor
Lawrence R Maxwell ABA Section Advisor
Charla Bizios Stevens ABA Section Advisor
Gretchen Walther ABA Section Advisor
Liza Karsai Executive Director
Kaitlin D. Wolff Staff Liaison