Legislative Fact Sheet - Unsworn Foreign Declarations Act (2008)

Act Unsworn Foreign Declarations Act (2008)
Origin Completed by the Uniform Law Commission in 2008.
Description This act will permit, in state court proceedings, unsworn declarations under penalty of perjury to be executed by witnesses physically located outside the United States in lieu of affidavits, verifications, or other sworn court filings.
  • Approved by the American Bar Association
  • Suggested State Legislation by the Council of State Governments 


Enactments Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Idaho, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin
2018 Introductions Massachusetts
Staff Liaison(s) Kaitlin Wolff