Carl Lisman appointed Chair of ULC Executive Committee

(August 1, 2017) -

111 N. Wabash Ave., Suite 1010, Chicago, IL  60602
312-450-6600, www.uniformlaws.org

For Immediate Release:

Carl Lisman will serve 2-year term as Chair of Uniform Law Commission’s Executive Committee

August 1, 2017 – Carl H. Lisman, partner in the Burlington law firm Lisman Leckerling, P.C., has been appointed to serve a two-year term as Chair of the Executive Committee of the Uniform Law Commission (ULC).  Mr. Lisman was appointed Chair of the Executive Committee at the 126th Annual Meeting of the ULC, which recently concluded in San Diego, California.  The Executive Committee is the governing body of the ULC, and is responsible for implementing the policies adopted by the ULC at its meetings.

Anita Ramasastry, Dean Emeritus Roland L. Hjorth Professor of Law at the University of Washington School of Law, Seattle, Washington, will serve as President.

Mr. Lisman was first appointed to the ULC from Vermont in 1976, and is the chair of the Vermont delegation.  He has served as Treasurer and Chair of the Scope and Program Committee of the ULC, the committee which recommends the study and drafting projects which the ULC should undertake.

He is a Fellow of the American College of Real Estate Lawyers and former member of its Board of Governors, and a member of the Anglo-American Real Property Institute.  He has also served as a Trustee of the University of Vermont and chaired the Board of Trustees for three years.

Founded in 1892, the ULC is an organization comprising more than 350 practicing attorneys, judges, law professors, legislators and other state officials – all lawyers – appointed by every state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands to draft and promote enactment of uniform laws that are designed to solve problems common to all the states.  Commissioners donate their time as a pro bono public service.

Commissioners come together as the Uniform Law Commission once a year to study and consider drafts of specific statutes in areas of the law where uniformity among the states is desirable.  U.S. President Woodrow Wilson, former U.S. Supreme Court Justices Louis Brandeis, Wiley B. Rutledge, and David Souter, and former U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice William H. Rehnquist have all served as Uniform Law commissioners.  Since its inception in 1892, the ULC has promulgated more than 200 uniform acts, among them such bulwarks of state statutory law as the Uniform Commercial Code, the Uniform Probate Code, the Uniform Partnership Act, the Uniform Securities Act, the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act, and the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act.

Further information on the Uniform Law Commission can be found at the ULC’s website at www.uniformlaws.org.

Katie Robinson, ULC Legislative Program Director & Communications Officer
312-450-6616 ׀ krobinson@uniformlaws.org  

# # #