Legislative Fact Sheet - Declaratory Judgments Act

Act Declaratory Judgments Act
Origin Completed by the Uniform Law Commission in 1922.
Description This Act authorizes courts to adjudicate actual controversies concerning legal rights and duties even though traditional remedies for damages or equitable relief are not available. It thus provides a means for settling disputes by judgments which do no more than declare the legal rights of the parties, where otherwise the controversy would have to remain unsettled.
Enactments Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
2018 Introductions
Staff Liaison(s)