Legislative Fact Sheet - Simultaneous Death Act

Act Simultaneous Death Act
Origin The Uniform Simultaneous Death Act was originally promulgated in 1940 and was adopted in 49 states. The 1991 Act was incorporated into the Uniform Probate Code Article II. The act was amended in 1993.
Description USDA creates default rule that one must survive another by 120 hours to avoid disputes caused by simultaneous or quickly successive deaths of persons between whom property or death benefits pass on the death of one survived by the other.

American Bar Association

Enactments Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin
2018 Introductions
Staff Liaison(s) Benjamin Orzeske