Joint Editorial Board for Uniform Trust and Estate Acts

 View Only


The Richard Wellman Award is named for Professor Richard V. Wellman, who died on June 3, 2005. At his death, Wellman was the Robert Cotton Alston Professor Emeritus at the University of Georgia School of Law, where he taught from 1974 to 1990. Previously he taught at his alma mater, the University of Michigan Law School, from 1954 to 1974. Wellman served as a Uniform Law Commissioner for 35 years. He was the Chief Reporter of the original Uniform Probate Code and served for many years as the executive director of the Joint Editorial Board for the Uniform Probate Code, which is now the Joint Editorial Board for Uniform Trust and Estate Acts (JEB-UTEA). The Wellman Award is given by the JEB-UTEA for outstanding contributions to uniform laws in trusts and estates.

2005 - Robert M. Brucken
2006 - J. Pennington Straus (Posthumously)
2008 - E. James Gamble (Posthumously)
Eugene F. Scoles
2010 - Raymond H. Young
2013 - John H. Langbein
Lawrence W. Waggoner
2014 - Edward C. Halbach, Jr.
2016 - Malcolm A . Moore
2022 - David M. English
James R. Wade
2023 - Mary Louise Fellows